Getting Started with HKIE

The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers was initially founded in Hong Kong in 1947 as The Engineering Society of Hong Kong to promote the professional standing, interests and technical standards of local engineers across a broad spectrum of engineering specialisations.  Ever since, the Society had been advancing its members’ professional and social involvement as it flourished.  It was then granted the official status as a statutory body and was incorporated in 1975 as the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers under the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers Ordinance, Chapter 1105 of the Laws of Hong Kong—as the city itself went through decades of phenomenal growth in areas of infrastructure, industrial and social development with engineers playing their pivotal roles during such process. 

 

The HKIE first started off in 1975 with about 2,000 members, and until now, the number of members far exceeds 30,000. Through these years, the Institution has established various engineering disciplines to diversify and intensify our contributions to the development of Hong Kong.  In 1982, the Corporate Members of the HKIE are recognised by the Hong Kong Government for civil service, marking a significant milestone for the development of the engineering profession. 

 

The engineering professionals of Hong Kong have been evolving with the time as the HKIE continues to assert its driving force. Responding to and foreseeing technological advancements in a myriad of engineering disciplines, new Divisions have been – and will be –established by the HKIE to cater to the needs of members and society.  Now, the HKIE proudly boasts in total 21 highly professional and specialised Disciplines and 19 Divisions to serve our members and the community.

香港工程師學會簡介

香港工程師學會前身為「香港工程協會」,於1947年成立,以推動香港工程的專業水平、為會員謀求福利和提升資歷標準為宗旨,服務眾多專業界別及工程領域,並一直致力提升業界專業操守和積極鼓勵會員投入公共事務,參與香港社會多方面的重要發展,包括基建、工業以至社會建設。政府於1975年通過《香港工程師學會條例》(第1105章),正式賦予學會法定地位。

 

香港工程師學會在1975年成立時約有二千名會員,至現今會員人數遠超過三萬人。 期間學會成立了不同的專業工程界別,在各個領域的社會發展上作出貢獻。直至1982年,香港政府確認了學會的法定會籍為公務員(專業工程師職級)的入職資格,為工程專業的發展打下了一個重要的里程碑。

 

基於工程技術及科技發展迅速,香港工程師學會一直與時並進,積極保持前瞻性,持續建立不同專業界別,為會員開拓不同工程領域,以及回應社會所需,推動香港整體發展。目前,香港工程師學會已設立21個專業界別及19 個分部,以服務會員及社會各界。